Hawaii Beat
Star-Bulletin staff and wire reports

Thursday, January 20, 2005

Vulcans, 'Swords to meet tonight

Hawaii-Hilo moved up a notch in the NCAA Division II West Region Poll to the third spot, while Chaminade checks in at No. 9.

The Vulcans (16-2 overall, 4-2 Pacific West Conference) host the Silverswords (11-5, 5-1) in a pair of PWC games this week in Hilo. Games are slated for 7:15 p.m. tonight and 2 p.m. on Saturday. Both games are in the Afook-Chinen Civic Auditorium. Saturday night, keikis 15-and-under will be admitted free as part of Keiki Day.

WAC softball coaches pick Fresno State

Fresno State has been picked to win the 2005 Western Athletic Conference softball title in a preseason poll of conference coaches.

The Bulldogs have earned the coaches' prediction nine of the last 10 years. FSU is the only team in the nation to play in all 23 NCAA Tournaments.

Fresno State's Christina Clark and Jamie Southern were also picked as preseason player and pitcher of the year. Hawaii put the most players on the preseason All-WAC team with five: catcher Denise Dahlberg, second baseman Noelle Izumi, outfielder Tracie Uchima, designated player Kate Robinson and at-large player Melissa Coogan.

Tulsa was picked as preseason runner-up, followed by UH, Nevada, Louisiana Tech, San Jose State and UTEP.

The Rainbow Wahine open their regular season Feb. 3 at home in the Oceanic Time Warner Paradise Classic against Indiana University-Purdue University Fort Wayne.

Nishimoto plays way into Turtle Bay

Hawaii Golf Hall of Famer Dan Nishimoto shot a 3-under 69 yesterday to win the Turtle Bay Resort Invitational Qualifier for the 2005 Turtle Bay Championship.

Hawaii professionals over the age of 50 were eligible to play for a spot in the 2005 Turtle Bay Championship, the Jan. 24-30 Champions Tour event on the Arnold Palmer Course.

Nishimoto was inducted into the Hawaii Golf Hall of Fame in 2002. He has won the Kaui Open five times, the Makalena State Open in 1974, the State Amateur Championship in 1981, the Maui Open in 1991, the Hilo Open in 1992, the Makaha Open in 1993, the State AJA title in 1976 and was the state's low qualifier for the National Public Links Championship in 1973 and 1980.

See line scores and results in the [ Scoreboard ] section.

E-mail to Sports Desk


© Honolulu Star-Bulletin -- http://archives.starbulletin.com