Star-Bulletin Sports

Sunday, May 12, 2002


Kailua's Kamaile Santos slid around Roosevelt catcher Brandon Loo and beat the throw to score the Surfriders' third run in the first inning. Kailua went on to beat the Rough Riders 7-2, winning their third straight OIA championship.

Kajiyama pitches Kailua
to third straight OIA flag

By Jason Kaneshiro

It took almost an entire season, but the Kailua baseball team finally got the performance it had been expecting from Chad Kajiyama last night.

Kajiyama struck out seven and limited Roosevelt to one hit to lead the Surfriders to their third consecutive Oahu Interscholastic Association championship with a 7-2 victory over the Rough Riders at Aloha Stadium.

"Kaj had a terrible regular season and I knew he was a better pitcher, he just didn't show up until tonight," Kailua coach Corey Ishigo said.

The senior right-hander was working on two days rest after throwing 100 pitches in six innings in a quarterfinal win over Waianae on Thursday, and finished with 118 pitches last night.

"I was kind of tight going into (Thursday's) game and that loosened me up and helped me pitch good tonight," Kajiyama said. "I have to throw a lot of pitches to get warmed up."

The championship was Kailua's ninth overall and provides the defending state champion's momentum heading into next week's state tournament.

"We had a difficult time getting here this year," Ishigo said. "The kids accepted the challenge and rose to the occasion this week."

The Surfriders provided Kajiyama the support he needed with three-run rallies in the first and third innings.

Kamaile Santos went 3-for-4 and drove in three runs and Shaun Sasaki chipped in with three RBIs for the Surfriders.

"That helped me relax a lot tonight," Kajiyama said. "Just knowing they were behind me whole-heartedly."

Kailua's victory avenged a 14-12 loss to Roosevelt earlier this season and denied the Rough Riders their first league championship.

"I had to try to keep it on the outside and away from them because they are a good hitting team," Kajiyama said. "If I had brought it down the middle they would have hit me very hard."

Kailua jumped on Roosevelt starter Ranson Tamai, who had just one previous appearance this season, for a three-run rally with two out in the top of the first. Santos opened the scoring with an RBI single and Lawrence Hamocon drove in two more with a single to right.

The Surfriders scored three more in the third with Sasaki recording a two-run single to center off James Fase, who had pitched one-third of an inning entering the tournament.

The Rough Riders got their first run in the bottom of the fourth without recording a hit. Ivan Fujii walked, went to second on a wild pitch and later scored on a ground out by Blake Isobe.

Kajiyama pitched four no-hit innings before giving up an RBI single to pinch hitter Brandon Morimoto in the bottom of the fifth for Roosevelt's lone hit.

"To get into this position these guys really stuck together and gave themselves the opportunity to win or lose the championship," Roosevelt coach Kerry Higa said. "It basically took a big performance from Kailua to take care of us."

At Aloha Stadium

Kailua (11-3) 303 010 0 -- 7 9 0

Roosevelt (10-3) 000 110 0 -- 2 1 1

Chad Kajiyama and Chad Nishizuka; Ranson Tamai, James Fase (3), Chris Mols (6) and Brandon Loo. W--Kajiyama. L--Tamai.

Leading hitters--Kailua: Kamaile Santos 3-4, 2b, 2 RBIs; Lawrence Hamocon 2 RBIs; Shaun Sasaki 2-3, 3 RBIs.


Mililani 4, Aiea 2: Three Mililani pitchers combined on a one-hitter as the Trojans held off Na Alii for third place.

Mililani starter Christopher Balatico struck out seven over five innings to earn the win. Trey Brown snuffed out an Aiea rally in the seventh to pick up the save.

At Aloha Stadium

Mililani (10-3) 001 030 0 -- 4 4 2

Aiea (9-3) 000 000 2 -- 2 1 1

Christopher Balatico, Gainor Nitta (6), Trey Brown (7) and Shawn Saito; Dustin Grace, Nelson Hao (5), Matt Yoshimura (7) and Aaron Asher. W--Balatico. L--Grace. S--Brown.

Leading hitters--Mililani: Gainor Nitta 2-4, RBI; Trey Brown 2b, RBI; Balatico 2b. Aiea: Jonathan Sakurai 2b.


Waianae 3, Waipahu 0: Dane Awana went 6 1/3 innings before allowing his first hit as the Seariders shut out the Marauders to earn the OIA's last berth in the state tournament.

Awana struck out 10 in a complete-game performance.

At Aloha Stadium

Waipahu (5-8) 000 000 0 -- 0 1 1

Waianae (10-2) 000 102 x -- 3 7 0

Ross Garabiles, Jaryd Kiyabu (6) and John Fauatea; Dane Awana and Michael Ferreira. W--Awana. L--Garabiles.

Leading hitters--Waipahu: Fauatea 2b. Waianae: Kalani Viernes 2-2.


Pearl City 6, Kailua 3: No details were available.

Hawaii School Web Sites

E-mail to Sports Editor


Text Site Directory:
[News] [Business] [Features] [Sports] [Editorial] [Do It Electric!]
[Classified Ads] [Search] [Subscribe] [Info] [Letter to Editor]

© 2002 Honolulu Star-Bulletin