Star-Bulletin Sports

Saturday, January 1, 2000

R A I N B O W _ S W I M M I N G

Men and women of
UH sweep swim meets

Star-Bulletin staff


The University of Hawaii became the first college ever to win every men's and women's event in the Ed Kennedy Meet yesterday at Fort Lauderdale, Fla., in the annual College Swimming Coaches Forum.

Each UH squad won seven events at the International Swimming Hall of Fame, breaking 10 all-time records in the process.

"I am truly amazed at how well we swam," UH coach Sam Freas said. "Some of the athletes felt like they heard Duke Kahanamoku cheering from his immortalized position as an honoree at the Hall of Fame. I think he would have been real proud."

A UH men's relay team of Nick Folker, David Jenkins, Eddie Lovell and Ramie Darling shattered the old record in the 200-meter freestyle relay by two seconds, winning the race by almost 20 meters.

The 150-meter backstroke relay team of Simon Thirsk, Stephen Freas and Jenkins broke the event record that UH set in 1998.

The men set six other records and doubled the scores of all the other teams in the meet.

Harvard, Eastern Michigan, Louisville and Wisconsin rounded out the top five in the final standings.

Sarah Watchorn, Melanie Zauder, Lori Thomas and Tammy Tye set a record for the UH women in the 200 medley relay with a time of 2:00.4.

Thomas also broke the previous mark in the 50-meter freestyle with a time of 27.03.

The Eastern Illinois, Toledo and Louisville women's teams finished behind UH.

College swim teams have been traveling to Fort Lauderdale annually since 1993 to train and compete in the Coaches Forum.
Ka Leo O Hawaii

E-mail to Sports Editor

Text Site Directory:
[News] [Business] [Features] [Sports] [Editorial] [Do It Electric!]
[Classified Ads] [Search] [Subscribe] [Info] [Letter to Editor]
[Stylebook] [Feedback]

© 2000 Honolulu Star-Bulletin