Monday, July 5, 1999

Taking Notice

Scholarships and academic honors

These island residents or groups recently earned scholarships or academic recognition:

Jack Reilly has been awarded the Thanks Badge, the highest adult award in Girl Scouting for outstanding service, by the Girl Scout Council of Hawaii. The Fran McConoughey Award for volunteer training was awarded to Peg Holowecki.

Honor Pins went to Ginger Carvalho, Vicky Chiu-Irion and Theresa Lennox; Appreciation Pins to Cindy Birks, Terri Evans, Paula Felton, Kim Taylor; President's Hui Po'okela Awards to Ewa No Ka 'Oi, Hickam, Honolulu, Koko Head, Kolekole, North Shore and Ohana Service Units; Council Plaques to Eddie Fox, Hilo Baptist Church, Hui 'O Wahine, Military Police Battalion Schofield Barracks, Wal-Mart in Kailua-Kona, Charlotte White, principal of Ka'iulani School.

The President's Mele Award went to the 1998 Wider Opportunity Team: Andrea, Renee, and Tina Au, Melinda Carroll, Roslyn Catracchia, Vicky Chiu-Irion, Kila deMello, Mary Gaber, Carolyn and Jennifer Gire, Kathleen Gorga, David Kauahikaua, Dory and Vicky Kong, Debbie and Lahela Lindsey, Nani Makahanaloa, Carla Moose, Jackie and Pat Reilly.

The Community Benefactor Award was given to the Atherton Family Foundation, Harold K.L. Castle Foundation, Kapalua Maui Charities, Ka'anapali Senior Classic, University of Hawaii Women's Athletics-Marilyn Moniz-Kaho'ohanohano, GTE Hawaiian Tel, Trade West, Inc., RSI Roofing, Gamma Phi Beta Sorority, ICI Delux Paint Company, Akamai Painting, Roof-ers' Union #221, Plane Views of Hawaii.

Wendong Tang, a medical student at the University of Hawaii, was one of 10 winners in a competition held by the American College of Physicians-American Society of Internal Medicine for his research paper on "Avascular Necrosis of the Hip in Patients with Untreated Aplastic Anemia." He presented his research at the group's annual meeting in New Orleans.

ArtMark Nakamoto of Mililani, a former Iolani graduate now majoring in honors microbiology at Michigan State University, is one of two students honored by the Michigan Association of Governing Boards for academic excellence and service to campus and community.

Avelina Barsatan of Ewa Beach has received the first annual Vikki Leanne Moritsugu Memorial Scholarship, established by Rear Adm. Kenneth P. Moritsugu in memory of his daughter, who lost her life in an auto accident and donated her organs and tissue. Barsatan is a member of the Hawaii Chapter of Transplant Recipients International Organization and is also a transplant recipient. She is studying at Hawaii Pacific University to become a registered nurse.

Serena Muranaka of Honolulu, Kulamanu Losch of Kailua, and Ryan Arakaki of Pearl City, who are now attending Linfield College in Oregon, took part in a special month-long study program to increase global awareness, which took them to Hong Kong, Southeast Asia and Hawaii.

Serina M. Diniega, a Pearl City High School graduate, has been named one of some 2,600 candidates in the 1999 Presidential Scholars program, based on superior academic achievements, personal character and community activities.

Jonathan Yorck, a Punahou teacher for 19 years, has received an $800 third prize from Childnet International for using the Internet in his class. He will combine his winnings with a donation from Chris Resich, president of Pomare Inc. dba Hilo Hattie's, and provide a computer system for a rural school in Poland. The Olesnica Mala school is located in the Yorck family's old village, once known as Breslau, Germany. Yorck, a native of Poland, teaches kindergarten.

Sage Wallower of Radford High School was a state representative at the first annual Student Zero Population Growth Capital Hill Days Convention in Washington, D.C. The only high school student to be included because of his exceptional advocacy record, he met with legislators, learned lobbying techniques and attended population issues forums.

E-mail to City Desk

Text Site Directory:
[News] [Business] [Features] [Sports] [Editorial] [Do It Electric!]
[Classified Ads] [Search] [Subscribe] [Info] [Letter to Editor]
[Stylebook] [Feedback]

© 1999 Honolulu Star-Bulletin