Prep Beat

By Star-Bulletin Staff

Friday, May 7, 1999

Na Alii hold
off Falcons

Kylee Nakamura banked in a running 6-footer with one second to play, giving Aiea a 49-48 victory over Kalani in the Oahu Interscholastic Association girls' basketball tournament last night.

The Falcons had overcome a 22-point deficit in the final quarter last night at the Farrington gym, trailing, 42-20 after three quarters.

Kalani began pressuring Aiea into turnovers and went on a 28-5 tear to take a 48-47 lead.

But the Falcons missed two free throws with nine seconds to play and Lauren Ho rebounded for Aiea. She zipped an outlet pass to Nakamura, who went coast-to-coast for the winning basket.

Aritta Lane led Na Alii with 21 points but scored just one in the fourth quarter before fouling out.

Tasha Kennedy and Ashli Kamakawiwoole each had 10 fourth-quarter points to trigger the Falcons' comeback. Jodi Segawa led Kalani scorers with 14.

Kalani	9  4  7 28-48
Aiea	8 18 18  7-49
Kalani: Lynn Yang 2, Ashli Kamakawiwoole 10, Tasha Kennedy 13, Ashley Takata 0, Leslie Kagami 0, Brenda Higashimoto 4, Jodi Segawa 14, Jovan Okamura 0, Nicole Paiva 5.

Aiea: Joelle Sugai 6, Kylee Nakamura 4, Tiffany Seiki 2, Lauren Ho 2, Ashley Watanabe 2, Keesha Aldridge 12, Aritta Lane 21.

Moanalua 65, Kahuku 43: At Moanalua, Mayumi Stevens hit two 3-pointers and scored 14 of her game-high 20 points in the second quarter to help the Menehunes beat the Red Raiders. Kimberly Morikawa added 18 for Moanalua. Teisa Foti scored 14 for Kahuku.

Kahuku		14 12 11  4-43
Moanalua	11 22 16 16-65
Kahuku: Aukai Pearl 4, Teizi Sorenson 2, Lindsey Williams 4, Siki Suguturaga 7, Betty Betham 8, Teisa Foti 14, Alesi Tevaga 2.

Moanalua: Kimberly Morikawa 18, Mayumi Stevens 20, Erin Chow 4, Melody Matautia 0, Marlo Daniels 2, Gina Carmon 0, Oneshia Walker 7, Chandel Santella 12, Jenelle Uyeda 2. 3-Point goals-Moa: Morikawa 4, Stevens 2.

Farrington 50, Leilehua 37: At Farrington, Robynn Afe scored six of her game-high 18 points and Christina Stowers all of her six points in the fourth quarter as the Governors pulled away from the Mules.

Sequoya Stokes led Leilehua with 15 points, seven of them in the first quarter as the Mules took a 10-8 lead. But Farrington shot ahead by two at halftime.

Leilehua	10 10 5 12-37
Farrington	8 14 8 20-50
Leilehua: Melody Hanson 3, Karley Peterson 1, Kehaulani Gamponia 5, Sequoya Stokes 15, Sharonn Okamura 8, Rheanne Grogg 0, Te-Hina Ickes 3, Freida Tauvela 2.

Farrington: Rochelle Rivera 0, Nicholle Mata 9, Cherlyn Ligot 8, Darcy Reforminia 4, Paradise Hill 0, Jennifer Nuesca 0, Sophia Malufau 4, Christina Stowers 6, Cynthia Filifili 1, Evelyn Uli 0, Robynn Afe 18, Lorelei Tuimaleliifano 0.


Williams' 20 K's
lift Marauders

Jerome Williams struck out 20 batters and got the win when Chaz Ramos chopped the ball over pitcher Kukui Lucas' head and through the drawn-in infield with the bases loaded in the bottom of the ninth inning as Waipahu beat Roosevelt, 3-2, in an Oahu Interscholastic Association baseball playoff game yesterday at Waipahu.

Roosevelt elected to intentionally walk Guysen Pauline with no outs and runners on first and second to pitch to Ramos. Lucas struck out 11 but took the loss.

Roosevelt	000 002 000-2 4 2
Waipahu		001 100 001-3 9 3
Kukui Lucas and Chad Kapanui; Jerome Williams and Cedric Crisostomo. W-Williams. L-Lucas.

Leading hitters-Roos: Brandon Tanabe, 3-4, 2b. Waip: Jerome Williams, 2-4; Joseph Moananu, 2-4; Chaz Ramos 2-4.

Kailua 5, Aiea 4: At Aiea, Jon Torres hit a tie-breaking, one-out homer in the top of the eighth inning to give the Surfriders an upset victory over Na Alii.

Kailua had tied the game, 4-4, with a run in the seventh. With one out, Ryan Exstrom singled, advanced to third on a single by Lopaka Burgess and scored as Kawika Kaita forced Burgess at second but beat the relay to first on what could have been a game-ending double play.

Kailua	012 000 11-5 6 3
Aiea	010 003 00-4 7 4
Jay Kekaula and Lopaka Burgess; Ross Tanaka, Adrien Williams (8) and Kirk Powell. W-Kekaula. L-Williams.

Leading hitters-Kail: Rodney Choy Foo, HR, 2b; Jon Torres, HR. Aiea: Paul Yoshida, 2-4, 2b; Kirk Powell, 2-4.

Pearl City 13, Kaiser 9: At Kaiser, Jeffrey Iwata went 4-for-4, Brandon Hookala was 3-for-5 and Robin Miyatake and Chad Yamamoto homered to pace the Chargers' 15-hit attack.

Kaulana Kaapana had two triples and two singles in four at-bats for the Cougars.

Pearl City	420 420 1-13 15 2
Kaiser		104 030 1- 9 14 1
Brandon Kameoka and Tyler Lee; Kahana Kaapana, Travis Sato (4) and Landon Amoy. W-Kameoka. L-Kaapana.

Leading hitters-PC: Jeffrey Iwata, 4-4; Brandon Hookala, 3-5, 3b; Tyler Lee, 2-3, 2b; Robin Miyatake, 2-4, HR; Chad Yamamoto, HR. Kais: Kaulana Kaapana, 4-4, 2 3b; Kaulana Gibo, 2-4, 3b, HR; Kahana Kaapana, 2-3, 2b; Daniel Heu, 2-4, 2b; Ross Furuhashi, 2-3.

Mililani 9, Castle 1: At Castle, Travis Kochi's two-run triple highlighted a four-run first inning that helped the Trojans beat the Knights.

Mililani	400 212 0-9 7 2
Castle		000 010 0-1 5 8
Colin Wagatsuma and Bryce Watanabe; Kyle Colunga, Anthony Haugen (5), Colin Kaneshiro (7) and Russell Kimura, Bobby Namba.

Leading hitters-Mili: Travis Kochi 2-4, 3b, 2 RBIs.

Chang blazes
in qualifying

Punahou's Victoria Chang set a meet record in the 1,500 meters with a time of 4 minutes, 35.06 seconds during trials at the Interscholastic League of Honolulu track and field championships yesterday.

Chang's time was a little more than three seconds off last year's junior national championships winning time of 4:32.31.

Iolani's Lauran Dignam had the top qualifying time in both the girls' 400-meter dash (59.43) and 200-meter dash (26.17).

The ILH finals will be held tomorrow at Punahou, starting at 8 a.m.

The OIA track and field championships will be held tonight at Mililani, starting at 5 p.m.

In Wednesday's trials, the Mililani girls' 4x100 meter relay team broke a 26-year-old meet record with a time of 49.87 seconds.

Elizabeth Dalrymple, Vera Simms, Cherina Tucker and Leila Hammond topped the time of 50.10 set by Leilehua in 1973.

Mid-Pacific advances
to ILH tourney
championship game

Bryan Tanabe did not allow a runner past second base and Mid- Pacific pounded four St. Louis pitchers in five innings to take an 11-0 win yesterday at Ala Wai Field and advance to the Interscholastic League of Honolulu baseball tournament title game.

The Owls will meet the regular-season champion Iolani Raiders tomorrow at 6 p.m., at Ala Wai Field. If Iolani wins, it takes the double-elimination tournament title and overall ILH crown.

If Mid-Pacific wins tomorrow, the teams meet again next Tuesday for the tournament title. If the Owls win the tournament title, the teams would meet again next Thursday for the overall ILH title.

St. Louis	000 00- 0  3 4
Mid Pacific	333 2x-11 11 0
Sean Paiva, Jovausten Murray-Thornton (1), Isaac Harbottle (3), Chad Santos (4) and Joe Cabansag, Nick Tudisco (4); Bryan Tanabe and Jacob Flick. W-Tanabe. L-Paiava.

Leading hitters-MP: Lance Takaki 2-4, 2 2b, Blake Sing Chow 3-3, RBI, Rex Rundgren 2-3, 3b, 2 RBsI.

E-mail to Sports Editor

Text Site Directory:
[News] [Business] [Features] [Sports] [Editorial] [Do It Electric!]
[Classified Ads] [Search] [Subscribe] [Info] [Letter to Editor]
[Stylebook] [Feedback]

© 1999 Honolulu Star-Bulletin